Fire Season Information

From 1 July 2018, all fire permits for the Otorohanga District are administered by Fire and Emergency New Zealand (FENZ).​


0800 658 628


To check if a permit is required, please visit


Please note a change to the Fire Season Status for the Waikato / Thames area.

These changes will take place on Monday 8th April 2019.


Rural / Urban Zones

Rural and Urban Zones in the Waikato area will be going from a Restricted Fire Season to an Open Season Fire Season (No Fire Permit Required)

The Thames Valley Coromandel will remain in a Restricted Fire Season


Please go to the Check it’s alright web site, if you wish to see the surrounding districts fire season status


For Status Definitions for  Open, Restricted, Prohibited go to


If you're interested in seeing what the fire weather is in our area, visit the Fire and Emergency New Zealand fire weather website.