Prohibited Fire Season

Fire and Emergency New Zealand declares a PROHIBITED fire season, from 3 February 2020 in the following areas:


Includes Rural and Urban areas.

• Hauraki District

• Matamata Piako District

• Ōtorohanga District

• South Waikato District

• Waikato District

• Waipa District

• Waitomo District


See for types of fire which have been authorised as not being fires in open air and do not need a permit.

Any fire permits issued during a restricted fire season in the area(s) are suspended from the start of the prohibited fire season.


Paul Shaw

Principal Rural Fire Officer

Waikato / Thames