Open Fire Season declared by Fire and Emergency New Zealand

Fire and Emergency New Zealand have revoked the PROHIBITED fire season.

This change is effective from the Monday 20th April 2020

The following areas will be in an OPEN fire season:

  • Hauraki District
  • Waikato District
  • Waipa District
  • Waitomo District
  • Otorohanga District
  • Matamata-Piako District
  • South Waikato District

An OPEN fire season allows fires to be lit in the open air, without a fire permit.


Thames-Coromandel area will move from a PROHIBITED Fire Season to a RESTRICTED Fire Season.

Fire permits are required to light fires in the open air for this area


For more information please go to