Build Waikato

Build Waikato

Our office is closed due to the COVID-19 virus pandemic. We are still able to accept building and resource consent electronically. Please email [email protected] or calling 07 873 4346


Ōtorohanga District Council is a member of the Waikato Building Consent Group, which is made up of eight councils working together to coordinate a consistent process for building consents. This group controls the building laws, standards, quality control and building consents in the Waikato region.

This group has developed the Build Waikato website where you can find relevant and useful information about building consents across the entire region. Whether you’re from the building industry or doing it yourself, the site is for anyone involved in a building project, large or small.


The following Councils are also members:

  • Waipā
  • Ōtorohanga
  • Matamata-Piako
  • Waitomo
  • Hauraki
  • Hamilton City Council
  • Waikato District Council
  • Thames-Coromandel