Electoral System

According to the local Electoral Act 2001, local authorities may use either of the following electoral systems for electing its members:

  • First Past the Post (FPP)
  • Single Transferable Vote (STV)

Otorohanga District Council uses the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system.

Electors vote by selecting their preferred candidate(s), and the candidate(s) that receives more votes than the other candidates is declared the winner.

Electoral Officers

Electoral Officer for Ōtorohanga District Council:

Warwick Lampp

Electionz.com Ltd, PO Box 3138, Christchurch

Phone: 0800 666 931

Email: otorohangadc@electionz.com

Deputy Electoral Officer for Ōtorohanga District Council:

Graham Bunn

Ōtorohanga Council, PO Box 11, Ōtorohanga
Phone: 07 873 4000
Email: graham@otodc.govt.nz