Ōtorohanga Ward By-Election 2020

This by-election covers the extraordinary vacancy for one Ōtorohanga Ward member. The extraordinary vacancy has arisen from the recent resignation of Cr Paul McConnell.


The Electoral Officer for this by-election is Warwick Lampp. Warwick is based in Tauranga and works for election management company electionz.com Ltd. The Electoral Officer can be contacted by: Phone 0800 666 924 or email iro@electionz.com


The Deputy Electoral Officer for this by-election is Graham Bunn. Graham is the Group Manager Corporate for the Council and can be contacted on (07) 873 4000 or grahamb@otodc.govt.nz


Nomations opened on 26 March 2020 and closed at noon on 23 April 2020. 3 nominations were received:

  • Michaela Rangitaawa-Schofield 
  • Peter Coventry
  • Rodney Dow

As there is only one vacancy an election is required


View the candidate profiles here [PDF, 363 KB]


Election Timetable

Thursday 28 May 2020


Progressive roll scrutiny

Early processing period starts Special voting period starts

Friday 19 June 2020


Voting closes 12 noon – counting commences

Preliminary results available as soon as practicable

By Monday 22 June 2020

Official declaration

By Friday 26 June 2020

Public notice of declaration of result

By Monday 17 August 2020

Return of electoral expense forms



Who can vote?

If you are an Ōtorohanga District resident, who lives within the Ōtorohanga Ward and have enrolled on the parliamentary electoral roll for the general election, you are automatically enrolled to vote in the Ōtorohanga By-Election.

If you:

  • have not enrolled on the parliamentary electoral roll and would like to enrol,
  • would like to check if you're enrolled, or
  • would like to update your contact details,

please visit the Electoral Commission website or phone 0800 36 76 56.


Non-resident ratepayers

If you pay rates on a property in the Ōtorohanga Ward but don’t live there, you may be eligible to enrol on the non-resident ratepayer electoral roll. 
A company or society paying land rates also qualifies as a ratepayer elector.

A copy of the ratepayer enrolment form can be downloaded here [PDF, 87 KB]. This form can either be scanned and emailed to nrr@elections.com or sent via post to Ratepayer Elector Enrolments, PO Box 3138, Christchurch 8140.


Special Voting

Special Voting is available for people who are on the unpublished roll, or who have lost their voting papers. Details are included in the candidates handbook on page 23.